kepdavis

Stepping into the world of Social Work

Registering for classes!

Cover of "Social Work Macro Practice (4th...

Cover via Amazon

Well, I’ve come to the next step towards becoming a full fledged graduate student – I’ve registered for classes!

It took me a while to find the correct password (and I actually learned how to make Google Chrome show me passwords it has saved!) but I did it.

Admittedly, it was made a little easier by the fact that my particular courses are pretty set in stone – there really is only one section of each class I could register in. So I’ll have classes Monday and Wednesday nights, as I was expecting.

The two classes I will be taking are:

Human Behavior in the Social Environment

SOWK 503 Human Behavior and the Social 
Environment I (3) The ecological systems 
paradigm is the lens through which theories 
of personality, family, group, organization, 
community and culture and the interaction 
among these systems are explored.
  • ROBBINS. CONTEMPORARY HUMAN BEHAVIOR THEORY. (Required)
    ISBN: 9780205408160
    New: $117.50
    Used: $88.15
  • ZASTROW. UNDERSTANDING HUMAN BEHAVIOR ETC.(Required)
    ISBN: 9780495603740
    New: $134.50
    Used: $100.90
  • BERZOFF. INSIDE OUT & OUTSIDE IN. (Required)
    ISBN: 9780765704320
    New: $59.95
    Used: $45.00

Policy and Practice in Social Service Organizations

SOWK 534 Policy and Practice in Social 
Service Organizations (3) Study of social 
work organizations with emphasis on their 
policy contexts, organizational theory, and the 
development of delivery systems.
  • GILBERT. DIMENSIONS OF SOCIAL WELFARE POLICY (P). (Required)
    ISBN: 9780205625741
    New: $96.00
    Used: $72.00
  • NETTING. SOCIAL WORK MACRO PRACTICE (P).(Required)
    ISBN: 9780205838783
    New: $114.94
    Used: $86.25
The next steps will be to PAY for all of this (including signing notes for my student loans) and buy the books.
August 15th, I have Graduate Student Orientation, where I learn more about the ins and outs of being a grad student in general, and the 16th, 18th and 20th, I have “Community Immersion.” I’m not sure what to expect of that, but it sounds interesting. I was pleased to learn that I don’t have to take that whole week off work – only Monday, Tuesday, and part of Thursday, so I should be able to work an abbreviated week, checking in with all of my clients at least an hour that week.
The bigger deal this past couple of weeks has been getting me a new car…. more on that in a future post.
Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

