kepdavis

Stepping into the world of Social Work

MSW summer welcome

I spent the morning at a summer welcome event for new MSW students at USC, and enjoyed myself quite a bit.

I was very impressed with the caliber of my classmates, and while I only met one faculty member I have the feeling I’ll be even more impressed with them.

We started off with a short talk from the person in charge of admissions, and if I understood her correctly they accepted only about 1/3 of the 1200 applicants they received. They also introduced about half of the student groups that represent specific student interests and groups.

Then we broke into smaller assigned groups for half an hour, sharing who we were, etc. Interestingly, they had us play “I never…” which can be a rather revealing game but we played safe things like “I’ve never eaten sushi.”

After that, we met a few more of the student groups and were offered tours of the campus (which I didn’t bother, I didn’t feel up to the walk.) Then those of us who would be at alternate sites got the chance to meet with our sites (in my case, Skirball). They gave us a few hints about what things were like there (very relaxed, which is good).

I’m becoming increasingly sure that this will not be an easy journey, but it will certainly be a meaningful one!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

