kepdavis

Stepping into the world of Social Work

A Bit of Background

A bit of background about me first.

I’m a 40 something married woman in Los Angeles, with more than my share of ups and downs in my career. Mostly, I’ve worked with developmentally disabled adults in their jobs or in what is called a “community based day program.” I’ve also worked as a substitute and regular teacher and with a couple of Internet companies during the first dotcom bubble.

I have been toying with going back to graduate school for some time. I looked into School Psychology a couple of years back, but due to deadlines I was only able to apply to one program. Unfortunately, I was not admitted. The rejection hurt, so I postponed trying again for a while.

As I recovered from losing my job in November of ’10, I realized that this was the time for me to make one last effort at grad school. The school psychology program didn’t seem like an option before – perhaps they were telling me it wasn’t the right direction for me? – so after looking at a number of options I decided on the MSW, Master of Social Work. It connected well with my personal background as well as a strong connection with what I had been doing for 10 years.

I applied to three schools – USC, UCLA, and CSUN (Cal State Northridge). All of them have good programs, the first two being nationally ranked and the third being very very local and the least expensive. It was a lot of work, but I got the applications in!

So follow me…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

